ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 - An Overview

Fri, May 12, 2017 08:45 pm Posted: Cricketnmore Editorial
Jacques Kallis
May 12 (CRICKETNMORE) - With few days left for the mega cricket event - ICC Champions Trophy 2017, lets take a look at the previous editions of this tournament. The first edition of ICC Champions Trophy (then known as ICC Knockout Trophy) was held in Bangladesh in 1998. South Africa emerged as the winner after defeating West Indies in the final of the tournament. 

Read: IPL-2017: Nair's patient half century takes Delhi to 168/8 vs Pune

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Teams 

All 9 Test playing nations participated in the torunament. India, Australia, England, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe

Read: IPL 2017: Delhi Daredevils won by 7 runs

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Format

Tournament involved a direct knock-out format featuring all the test playing countries of the time. New Zealand and Zimbabwe played a preliminary match based on rankings. The winner New Zealand qualified for the Quarter-Finals.

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Match Results

Preliminary Match: New Zealand vs Zimbabwe: NZ won by 5 wickets

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Quarter-Finals 

South Africa vs England: South Africa won by 2 runs

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets

India vs Australia: India won by 44 runs

West Indies vs Pakistan: West Indies won by 30 runs

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Semi-Finals

South Africa beat Sri Lanka by 108 runs in the first semi-final

West Indies beat India by 6 wickets in the second semi-final

ICC Knockout Trophy 1998 Final

South Africa beat West Indies by 18 runs in the final to lift the trophy.

Player of the match: Jacques Kallis

Most Runs: Philo Wallace (West Indies) - 221 Runs

Most Wickets: Jacques Kallis (South Africa) - 8 Wickets

ICC Champions trophy 2017 Squads



#South Africa Cricket #Jacques Kallis #ICC Champions Trophy 2017 #ICC Champions Trophy